Chesham United - 13/08/22

Hanwell Town 2 - Chesham United 0

A good sized crowd came through the turnstiles at ‘The Powerday’ on Tuesday evening to witness Town climb to a heady seventh place in the Premier South section of the Southern League.

The victory looked unlikely for most of the first half as the visitors enjoyed a large percentage of possession and territorial advantage. Chesham put together a series of moves involving numerous accurate passes but barely created anything to alarm Hanwell. This was partly due to their failure to play in a final pass but also due to the outstanding defensive play of the Hanwell midfield and the back four. In fact, Chesham’s serious attempts were limited to a header from former Geordie Own Casey and a long range shot from Karl Oliyede easily gathered in by Hugo Sobte in the Hanwell goal.

Up at the other end Hanwell were finding it just as difficult to create chances despite putting together some promising passing moves. A quick free kick saw Adam Laaref dribble into the box but his shot was blocked. Harry Rush also had a shot blocked late in the half after Kweku Lucan had knocked back Calum Duffy’s deep cross. The half-time whistle saw the Hanwell the happier of the two sides to be level.

Hanwell began the second half on the front foot. Early on Dernell Wynter’s efforts set up Kweku Lucan but his shot was comfortably saved. Soon afterwards a Calum header found Adam on the very edge of the area, where he was brought down. The ensuing free kick promised much but provided little. Chesham were still looking good on the ball and a long range effort from substitute Zak Joseph took Hugo two attempts to control.

As the hour mark approached Adam’s footwork drew another foul just outside of the area. From the resultant free kick, Harry Rush got the ball up over the wall and down again quickly, but Sam Beasant positioned himself well and tipped the ball away for a corner.

Although Hanwell were looking threatening, mainly on the break, Chesham definitely had more possession and it took a timely challenge by Calum to thwart Francis Jno-Baptiste after he had been put through by Bradley Clayton.

With less than twenty minutes to go, for the second time, Hugo took two grabs to hold on to a shot, this time from Joseph. Then Hanwell came alight. George Nicholas went on a rampaging run, feeding Isaac Olorunfemi outside him. The full back cut inside and played in an inviting cross with his left foot that somehow evaded Kweku with a goal looking certain. Chesham then managed to clear a dangerous chip into the box from Jack Hutchinson. George Nicholas then fired narrowly wide from twenty-five yards after being found in a space by Kain.

With five minutes of normal time to play came some moments of high drama. Adam’s shot was parried by Beasant on to Kweku who had an empty goal in front him. As the ball headed into the net the goalie somehow got an arm to it and parried the ball back. A goal now looked certain but second close range attempt was cleared off the line. The ball was somehow knocked back into the six yard box and Kain sent the home crowd into raptures by firing it into the net.

Four minutes later Town made it two. A Harry Rush cover was met by Calum. Kweku latched on to it, turned and scored. Further scenes of joy followed, on and off the pitch.

Chesham almost immediately launched a threatening attack, with Hanwell somehow keeping the ball out of the net during a hectic goalmouth scramble. There was still time for Adam to once more run at the Chesham defence.  He fed Kweku whose shot from an angle was comfortably saved by Beasant.  It had been a thrilling finale. With fifteen minutes to go the Hanwell faithful may well have settled for a draw, but the exciting attacking play of the final minutes and the resultant goals sent them home with an even better result.


1.Hugo Sobte 2.Isaac Olorunfemi 3.Mack Miskin 4.Calum Duffy 5.Connagh Wilks 6.Hary Rush © 7.Adam Laaref 8.George Nicholas 9.Kweku Lucan 10.Jack Hutchinson (15.Mathew Mackenzie 84) 11.Dernell Wynter (14.Kain Adom 70)

Unused substitutes:

12.Chid Onokwai 16.Reuben Lundblad-Mason 17.Mahlando Martin

M. Plaice